Admissions Policy

The school provides places for pupils of all abilities up to the capacity set by the Department of Education for Northern Ireland. The admissions number for Year 8 is currently 76 and the allowed total enrolment of the school is 380.

If the number of pupils seeking admission to Year 8 is greater than the Admission Number, the Board of Governors, in consultation with the Principal, will apply the following criteria in the order set down.

  1. Pupils who have a brother/sister (including step-brother/step-sister) on the roll of the school on the date of consideration of their application.
  2. Pupils who have had a brother, sister, step-brother, step-sister or parent who previously attended the school.
  3. Pupils who are transferring from the following primary schools:
    Academy (Saintfield), Anahilt, Ballynahinch, Cairnshill, Carr, Carryduff, Castlewellan, Cumran, Derryboy, Downpatrick, Dromara, Drumaghlis, Glasswater, Newtownbreda, Riverdale, Rosetta, St. Macartan’s and Spa.
    Pupils whose Primary School lies south of The High School will be admitted first followed by those from the other named Primary Schools.
  4. Other pupils.

As each criterion is applied reference will be made to the school’s Admission Number. When a criterion is reached where the number is exceeded, a tie-breaker will be applied to those fulfilling that criterion to ascertain those pupils to be admitted.

The tie breaker will be based on the distance pupils live from the school. Specifically, preference will be given to pupils whose home address as stated on the pupil’s Transfer Form is closest to the school as measured in a straight line on an Ordnance Survey Map, from the front door of their home to the front gate of the school adjacent to Moss Road.

Where criteria are applied verification of information supplied will be required.

Print Email

Location Map

Upcoming Events

No events found